Weekly Training (10-4 to 10-10)

Sunday: 2:00 with Gary on the Mountainback course. We started on the very uphill leg (Leg 6?) and then ran a couple more legs. He said we averaged about 8 min/mile, which I was definitely okay with as kind of a confidence booster since this is probably the last time I’ll be running the course until the race. Again, the downhills felt a little off, but this will get better with a few more lifts and some time off. I’m now just nervous about the race and not whether or not my body will be ready for it since I still have 3 weeks before I’m actually running it.

Monday: Afternoon run – 1:30 with the team and a little bit by myself. My right knee started to twinge a little toward the end. I’m like 99% sure it’s because of all of the pavement that I’ve done over the last 4 days or so and nothing to be worried about, although I still iced it and I’ll continue to monitor it. It was nice to be able to get a non-long run and non-workout in with an easy day.

Tuesday: Morning lift

Afternoon run – 4 x 20 second “blasts” uphill followed by mile tempo, three times. This was actually a pretty good workout. Although I definitely do not have quite the turnover that I needed up the hills, it was nice to balance that out with the mile at tempo pace. While it wasn’t like I necessarily felt “good” when I was doing it, I felt strong and not slow, so that’s a plus. My knee was hurting again, so I iced after the workout, but this is now starting to worry me.

Wednesday: Morning run – :50 easy, but it felt like a sprint. My knee hurt the whole time and it felt really quick, even though I don’t think it was. Being 12 hours removed from a workout and 24 hours removed from a lift probably didn’t help me, but it was still a struggle of a run. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great.

Thursday: Morning lift

Afternoon run – :50 with 6 sets of 3 minutes at tempo pace followed by 1 minute at easy run pace. It actually went pretty well. I’m still not where I think I should be in relation to where I was, but as the last workout before Tussey (assuming that I don’t feel like I need to do any in California next week), I felt pretty happy ending on this.

Friday: Afternoon run – 2:00 with some of the dudes on the team up Musser. I really felt terrible on this one. No knee problems or anything, but my legs and my attitude was just dead. I don’t really know what was happening, but everything just felt dead. The taper (starting tomorrow) can’t come soon enough.

Saturday: Off

Leave a Reply

