Monthly Training (February 2016)

With Gary 2-14

Week 1 (Jan 31 – Feb 6)

Sunday, Morning run – 1:30 with Boggs (Gary is still sick) to and back from Musser; legs are still heavy and tired, and I don’t think running quick on the pavement really helped make them feel better at all.

Monday, Morning lift

Afternoon run – :45 at AccuCoaster in the dark; I either forgot what it’s like to hurt and be sore all the time, or this training cycle is, for whatever reason, much more difficult than last fall’s.

Tuesday, Morning bike – :30 at White Building; I’m starting to view these bikes more as closer to a lift than a run. The soreness in my legs (and my apparent low HR – I have trouble breaking 130), makes me think that I’m doing muscle building than simulated miles, which honestly is probably more beneficial, and also probably explains why I’m more sore now.

Afternoon run – 12 x 60 seconds up sunset hill; this workout actually felt pretty good, and I was happy with how much I was able to stay with the 4:40 and 4:50 milers doing the repeats. It felt a lot better than the hills two weeks ago, which is promising. The “main” workout that was done was a 3-2-1 mile repeats in between 5 and 5:30 min/mile pace with a 3 mile warmup and cooldown. To read the literature on usefulness of this workout, visit my new page and read the brief summary of the article.

Wednesday, Morning lift

Afternoon run – 1:00 with Gary at Scotia; not that muddy

Thursday, Morning bike

Afternoon run – :45 on the Blue Course loop

Friday

Afternoon run – 1:00 out towards Musser and back

Saturday

Morning run – 2:00 on the Mountainback course, including a 39:30 10k out and back on part of leg 10 that included about 750′ of climbing. I ran about 18 flat coming back down, so I’ll take that. It honestly felt like I was sprinting the entire time, and I wasn’t out of breath when I had finished, so I was happy with my race. I clearly don’t have that top end speed anymore, but I’ll definitely give that up as long as I run 6:30s for a marathon.

Week 2 (Feb 7 – Feb 13)

Sunday

Morning run – 1:00 around town; really just wanted to get my legs underneath me from the race yesterday.

Monday

Morning lift

Afternoon run – :45 around town in the dar

Tuesday

Morning bike – :30 in White Building

Afternoon workout – 1-2-3-2-1-2-3-2-1 workout with half rest; it only really amounts to a 17 minute workout with 8.5 minutes of rest, so it’s not that bad, and it’s decently fast; every week, the workouts feel better, so either I’m doing all of them easier or I’m actually feeling better – I hope it’s the latter

Wednesday

Morning lift

Afternoon run – 1:00 at Scotia with Gary

Thursday

Morning bike – :30 in White Building

Afternoon off

Friday

Afternoon run – 1:00 around the south side of town. In sleet. In the dark. Was pretty close to just sitting down and crying.

Saturday

Morning run – 2:00 with Boggs and Gary out at Scotia. I think Scotia may be getting a little repetitive. If anything, it’s definitely losing a little of its luster.

Week 3 (Feb 14 – Feb 20)

Sunday

Morning run – 2:15 with Gary out at Rothrock from Tussey. It definitely felt a lot better than Saturday, and there was also a lot of climbing, with 3 ~1000′ climbs. I know my legs are gonna feel like crap on Monday, but it was good to get out there.

Monday

Morning lift – off

Afternoon run – :45, again through the freezing rain/snow

Tuesday

Morning bike – :30 in White Building

Afternoon workout – 12 x 1 minute hills up Sunset. I had to stay late at work, so I did it by myself; I’m so glad that I have an iPod now so that I at least have something to help me when I’m doing these cold, wet, and slippery workouts by myself.

Wednesday

Morning lift

Afternoon run – 1:00 with Gary out at Scotia

Thursday

Morning bike – :30 in White building

Afternoon – :45 with the team; per usual, we started at some easy 7-7:15s and came crashing down at the end to some 6:15s. No surprise there, but it gets me every time all the same.

Friday

Off

Saturday

Morning run – 2:45 with some people on NVRC around town in between a 7:15 to 7:30 pace. It definitely felt pretty fast, especially considering the amount of trail running that I’ve been doing this year. It was reassuring that I was able to do this run, though, with all of the lifting and heavy miles that I’ve done.

Week 4 (2-21 to 2-27)

Sunday

Morning run – 2:00 with Gary and Eric at Tussey. It was tougher than I thought it was going to be, but not terribly so. It really helped that it was super warm (aka like 50) again, which always makes running a lot easier.

Monday

Morning lift

Afternoon run – off; as I am not necessarily “tapering” for the Naked Bavarian, this is less of a taper week and more of a typical down week in between training cycles; I’ll still be doing my workout tomorrow, so it’s not even that much of a down week, but I definitely want to make sure I can keep going for the next couple months.

Tuesday

Afternoon workout – 20 min tempo with Jacob; we were at right around 6 minute pace (possible a bit under!), so it was my fastest tempo of the year up through this point and pretty much exactly what I need at this point before my race reason starts.

Wednesday

Morning lift

(Travel to Berkeley)

Afternoon run – :45 out on the Strawberry Canyon fire trails, right outside of the national lab. Every run out here always feels like a workout; in this 45 minutes, I had about 2000 feet of climb.

Thursday

Off – spent all day in lab

Friday

Morning run – :45 (again) out in Strawberry Canyon; great views, tired legs

Saturday

Morning run – :45 after a night shift; pretty bad feeling run with way too many hills

 

Leave a Reply

