Monthly Training (May 2016)

Week 1 (May 1 – May 7)

Sunday

Off – down in Pittsburgh for the marathon

Monday

Morning lift – no legs

Afternoon run – :45 easy; I found that running and heating my legs seems to do better stuff than not running and icing; we’ll see how that goes

Tuesday

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Wednesday

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Thursday

Off

Friday

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Saturday

Morning run – 2:30 by myself in Rothrock from Shingletown; I was able to listen to podcasts and music for the whole time, and outside of eating it about half an hour in and slicing my hand up pretty bad, it was all-in-all an enjoyable run

Week 2 (May 8 – May 14)

Sunday

Morning bike – 1:30 out northwest of town toward and past the airport; probably not a super fast ride, but it was still pretty enjoyable, as all rides are when it’s sunny out

Monday

Off

Tuesday

Morning lift – no legs

Afternoon run – 1:00 our at Scotia, with doing the 6.25 mile loop in 46:30, which comes out to be about 7:30 miles; I didn’t start feeling okay until about half an hour in (legs are still kind of sore), and I also didn’t really realize that I was trying to tempo until that point. But if I’m doing 7:30s without breathing too heavy on those trails, hopefully Saturday should be fine.

Wednesday

Off

Thursday

Morning run – :45 easy

Afternoon lift – no legs

Friday

Off

Saturday

Glacier Ridge Trail 50k

Week 3 (May 15 – May 21)

Sunday

Off

Monday

Morning lift – no legs

Tuesday

Off (travel to Berkeley)

Wednesday

Off

Thursday

Afternoon lift – no legs

Friday

Afternoon run – 1:00 out in Tilden; always much hillier than I want, but I honestly didn’t feel that bad. My legs are not going to be better in time for Kettle, but I can try to make them get as close to passable as I can.

Saturday

Afternoon run – 1:15 in Tilden; the hills kill me, but my legs don’t feel too bad.

Week 4 (May 22 – May 28)

Sunday

Off (travel day)

Monday

Afternoon run – :45; I don’t know if it’s me just being used to the soreness or if the Tissue Rejuvenator is actually doing its job, but it seems that my legs may be doing a little better. We shall see.

Tuesday

Morning lift – no legs

Afternoon run – 1:15 at Scotia; again, I don’t know why, but it feels like my legs may be doing a little better… let’s hope.

Wednesday

Off

Thursday

Afternoon run – 1:00 out at Scotia; didn’t feel too bad, and if anything, this pace is faster than what I’ll be running Kettle at.

Friday

Morning left – added legs, we’ll see what this does.

Saturday

Off

Week 5 (May 29 – June 4)

Sunday

Off, but I went to Shingletown for some natural water ice bathing; it actually felt pretty good, so I’ll probably do it again on Tuesday.

Monday

Afternoon run – 1:15 at Scotia; not super fast, felt pretty good

Tuesday

Hour deep tissue massage – we’ll see how this plays out. The masseuse told me that she has seen “40 year old marathoners with legs less bad” than mine. I think this means I need to stretch more, which will definitely be something that I’ll have to incorporate into my workouts and long runs.

One thought on “Monthly Training (May 2016)

Leave a Reply

