January 2017 training

1-22-tempo

Week 1 (1-14 to 1-21)

Saturday

Morning run – 2:00 on roads, ~7:45 miles; yes, I know that this was technically last week, but I’m not going to include anything from Israel

Sunday

Afternoon workout – :30 temp, ~ 6:05 pace

Monday

Morning lift (legs) and :30 on the treadmill

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Tuesday

Morning lift and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon workout – 8 x ~1:30 hills; I don’t know if it was not doing any hard-ish workouts for a while or still being sore from yesterday morning’s lift, but my legs do not feel great

Wednesday

Morning lift (legs) and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Thursday

Morning lift and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon workout – 9 x 400 with minimal rest, starting at 1:20 and getting down to 1:10 by the last set; followed that up with a 200 at :31

Friday

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Saturday

Morning run – 2:30 to 3:00 (forgot to start my watch after a brief stop) on trails; my quads feel tired and I tripped after stubbing my toe; needless to say, I’m out of trail shape

Week 2 (1-22 to 1-28)

Sunday

Morning workout – :25 tempo; foot was hurting (and also very swollen) and my quads were pretty trashed, but was still able to move decently

Monday

Morning lift (legs) and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon run – :40 easy in snow

Tuesday

Morning lift and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon workout – 9 x 1:00 hill; I’m going to need to start doing more on Tuesdays

Wednesdsay

Morning lift (legs) and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon run – 1:00 easy in Scotia

Thursday

Morning lift and :15 on the treadmill (truly just could not bring myself to get to :20)

Afternoon workout – 2 x 1k,600,600 followed by a 200 (30.40 on my watch); every 200 split, save 2 of them (the first and the third-to-last) were sub :40, which appears to be good if I want to run in the 9 minutes for my 3k

Friday

Afternoon run – :45 easy

Saturday

Morning run – 2:30 at ~7:30 pace, although the last 15 miles were right about 7:00 pace, which isn’t too bad. A 7-flat pace for 50k gives me a 3:31, which I would gladly take (although probably would not qualify me for Boston with a 3:03:24)

Week 3 (1-29 to 2-4)

Sunday

Afternoon workout – :35 tempo, around 6 pace; it’s really tough for me to break this pace by myself, but I do feel like I can always go a little longer at it

Monday

Morning lift (legs) and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon run – :45 through the snow

Tuesday

Morning lift and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon workout – 8 x minute hills; still debating whether or not these are long enough workouts; I may start adding a short morning tempo on Tuesdays and Thursdays

Wednesday

Morning lift (legs) and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon workout – 2,3,4,3,2,3,4,3,2 at sub-tempo pace with half rest; I’m definitely going to add a short (10-15) minute tempo next week on Tuesdays and Thursdays to get a little more speed work in

Thursday

Morning lift and :20 on the treadmill

Afternoon run – :30

Friday

Afternoon “workout” – raced a 3k to 10:02; certainly not my best 3k time by any means, but not too bad; my legs didn’t hurt, but my breathing was pretty bad at the end.

Saturday

Morning run – 2:30 out in some of the hills on the Tussey course; we averaged 7:30s for the run, which isn’t that bad, especially with all of the hills that we had

One thought on “January 2017 training

  1. Did you know that when I read your post it had a Petco ad for doggie jackets–is that just my computer or are you now working for petco? love you–Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

